Highlights from Holiday Eating

January 6, 2012 § 2 Comments

 

I made several things over the holidays that I thought were good enough to remember, so I thought I’d make a list now that things are settling back into “normal” (notice the quotes).  So, here are links to my Thanksgiving and Christmas favorites:

Winter Panzanella from Michael Chiarello: This was SO good.  It was a little bit heavy on the prep side, but all is forgiven when you eat.  I’m just now learning to love pickling onions in vinegar before using them in a salad. I used to think it wasn’t worth it. I was wrong.

Leftover Squash Bread: Ok. It’s not really called “Leftover Squash Bread”.  It’s pumpkin, but I used leftover roasted squash as a stand in.  It’s a big recipe, so I put it in a bundt pan, adjusted the cooking time, and called it “Pumpkin Cake”.

Arugula, Prociutto, and Pomegranate Salad:  I deviated from the original recipe because when I went to buy fennel bulb that was called for it was $5 for one.  I subbed good old celery for the crunch and still really liked it.  Don’t forget the mint!

Jamie Oliver’s Mini Shell Pasta with Bacon, Pea, and Mint: I made this several times over the holiday.  If my kids ask for something with mint in it, I comply.

Creamed Onion Gratin: Goodness. This use of and onion will blow you away with it’s decadence. So, delicious.

Salted Butter Caramel Sauce: Oh my. I made this for a few gifts and loved how it turned out. I also loved that it only took three ingredients that I already had in the refrigerator and 10 minutes, max.  I’m sure it would taste better with French butter, but it was pretty darn good with Publix Salted.

 

And totally unrelated, but I still wanted to share: read this hilarious post from one of my favorite internet reads.  These people are funny.

 

 

 

§ 2 Responses to Highlights from Holiday Eating

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Highlights from Holiday Eating at Space & Thyme.

meta

