This Weekend

August 15, 2011 § 6 Comments

Scenes from the Circle B Ranch here in Lakeland.  It’s on a large lake full of alligators.  The thought of an alligator crossing our path definitely added some drama to our walk.  Proper drenching in sweat occurred.

And this?  This is “Scotty”.  Yes, he’s baby squirrel.  He fell out of his nest in our front yard.  I’m not a squirrel rescuer, reader.  Seriously.  I generally think of squirrels as rats with fuzzy tails, and every time I’m feeding him PUPPY formula from an eye dropper  (what??!) I’m shaking my head at myself.  But this thing…it’s cast some sort of spell on me.  I love it! Hopefully we aren’t doing more harm than good…. 

§ 6 Responses to This Weekend

  • Susan says:

    so awesome! so did you get a new camera? i keep forgetting to ask you. also, kevin was very proud to tell me about henry playing under-8s and his penalty kick. :)

    • Monica says:

      no on the new camera….mine magically started working again! Yes, and soccer is definitely starting again…every Saturday. giddy. At least the kids and Vince love it. I’m sure I’ll get there at some point. Maybe this is the year!

  • Elena says:

    Oh my word! What a post. This had me laughing out loud. I love little Scotty! The next thing you know though, you’ll be wearing him on your front in a baby bjorn like George on that Seinfeld episode–did you ever see that one? I hope Scotty’s transition into the big world goes well…. :)

  • Nina Horn says:

    We raised a baby squirrel about 8 months ago. It is amazing how they grow on you! I never thought I would get up in the middle of the night to feed a rat with a fuzzy tail! Ours ended up living with a co-worker of mine that also raised a baby squirrel. Perhaps Scotty could end up out with the chickens!
    How did orientation go? Hope everyone got the teachers they wanted :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This Weekend at Space & Thyme.

meta

