Strawberries, Round Two: Ice Cream

June 15, 2011 § 2 Comments

As I mentioned in the last post, I’ve been working through (oh, the suffering!) a frozen batch of strawberries we picked in April. My supply has gradually dwindled thanks to scones and countless shakes and smoothies.  One thing I swore I’d do before my supply was gone, though, was make strawberry ice cream.

I’ve been in a homemade ice cream phase ever since I’ve had David Lebovitz’s book, The Perfect Scoop , checked out from the library.  It’s a great book filled with ideas for ice creams, sorbets, granitas, etc.  I’ve made blueberry frozen yogurt, watermelon sorbet, mint chocolate ice cream (for Vince’s birthday), and now the Philadelphia style strawberry ice cream.  Yes, it’s a lot.  What can I say?  Icy things sound good when it’s too hot to show your face outside past 9 am!

Strawberry Ice Cream

adapted from The Perfect Scoop

I wasn’t familiar with the Philadelphia style distinction, so I’ll explain: Philly style ice cream is made with cream only, as opposed to the french style which uses a custard (eggs and cream) base.  One you just mix together ingredients before churning, one you cook before chilling and churning.  One is super easy, one takes a little more work. Both styles are, as you may suspect, delicious.

1 pound  fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced (or frozen, in my case)
¾ cup sugar
1 Tablespoon vodka or kirsch (this keeps it soft)
1 cup  sour cream
1 cup heavy cream
½ teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

Slice the strawberries and toss them into a bowl with the sugar and alcohol . Stir until the sugar begins to dissolve. Cover the bowl and let stand at room temperature for about an hour.

In a blender or food processor, pulse the macerated strawberries and their liquid with the remaining ingredients. Don’t go all the way on the puree.  You want a few chunks of strawberry in your ice cream.

Refrigerate for 1 hour, then freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. The ice cream will be quite soft when you remove it from the ice cream maker (sooo good), but it will firm up in the freezer.

§ 2 Responses to Strawberries, Round Two: Ice Cream

  • Susan says:

    This makes me so sad I don’t have an ice cream maker! I’m going to get one when we get to Boston!

    And it makes me so sad we’re not there to celebrate birthdays with ice cream!

    • Monica says:

      I forgot that you were our ice cream partner! So sad. I would say see if you can get someone to give you one for a present. I pull it out every once in a while and I’m really glad I have it, but I would probably have never bought one. Or maybe craigslist in boston. The northeast loves it’s ice cream.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Strawberries, Round Two: Ice Cream at Space & Thyme.

meta

