Strawberry Scones

June 13, 2011 § 3 Comments

Scones never go out of style here in my house. I’m trying to think if I’ve ever made a version that wasn’t gobbled up in a day. No. Even ones with flaxseed in them were snapped up without delay. So, strawberry scones?  Gone.

I love them, first of all, b/c they taste like strawberries and sweetened cream. Isn’t that enough to cause devotion?  Agreed. But, these scones have even more things going for them that are making them my current favorite baked good:

  • They put to good use some strawberries that we picked and froze back in April (code for: The ingredients are already in my pantry and I don’t  have to spend any money).
  • They’re beautiful (!).
  • (and, just to get on my good side) Making them produces barely any dirty dishes.

See? All three of these thing go along with what I need out of a recipe at this point in my life.  They… you know,the strawberry scones… just get me.  Why can’t all recipes just intuitively know what I need and provide it?  Wait.  Is that too much to ask of food?

Strawberry Scones (adapted from Confessions of a Tart)

 

1 cup strawberries (fresh or frozen)

3 tablespoons sugar

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons butter, in cubes, slightly softened

2/3 cup half-and-half or cream or cold buttermilk (I prefer cream having tried all three)

Sugar for dusting

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease a cookie sheet (or use parchment paper). Cut strawberries into bite-sized pieces (small bites). Sprinkle fruit with 1/2 tablespoon sugar; set aside.

Combine remaining sugar (2 1/2 tablespoons) with flour, baking powder and salt. Add butter, and, using your fingertips, quickly combine the butter into the flour mixture.  Stir in fruit; then add cream/half-and-half/buttermilk all at once. Use a spatula to gently stir dough until it holds together. The dough will be pretty wet.

Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead a few times to incorporate dry ingredients. Be gentle so you don’t break up the berries and don’t overwork the dough. Sprinkle dough with flour if it gets sticky.

Pat the dough into a circle 3/4 inch thick. If any berries peek out, push them into dough. Cut circle into 6-8 wedges, then transfer wedges to the cookie sheet, leaving at least 1/2 inch of space between them.

Bake 15 minutes.  Sprinkle with sugar and bake 5-10 more minutes or until the tops are beginning to brown. It was more like 10 minutes, but keep an eye on them as all ovens are different.

§ 3 Responses to Strawberry Scones

  • Elena says:

    These are beautiful–way to go on the pretty factor Monica! :) Ha, ha–I loved your last question of the post: “Is that too much to ask of food?” I think I push food to the limit everyday asking it to do the impossible for me! I look forward to making these soon–Silas will love them.

    • Monica says:

      I know…we probably both need therapy! looking forward to investing wayyyy too much time and energy on food with you in NC! on second thought, maybe we should come up with a new system…hmmm.

    • Monica says:

      I know…we probably both need therapy! looking forward to investing wayyyy too much time and energy on food with you in NC! on second thought, maybe we should come up with a new system…hmmm.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Strawberry Scones at Space & Thyme.

meta

