French Friday: Late and on a Sunday

May 16, 2011 § 2 Comments

Yesterday I finally got around to making the goat cheese torte my French Fridays with Dorie group made weeks ago. I’m a bit behind after having had a couple of weeks of crazy family time. Not that my family is crazy. I mean, we are, but I mean crazy as in busy, family time. I literally had the ingredients lined up in my fridge for a week and  just could never find the time to get the thing made.

But, I did finally make the “Tourteau de Chevre” and took it over to a going away party for my good friends Susan and Kevin.  I thought it was fitting since she’s the one who inspired me to start this blog project, thinking she and I would cook our way through Around My French Table.  The plan changed a little, right away, due to her work schedule and, now we can’t do it b/c they are packing up and moving to Boston. Bittersweet.  Excited for them, sad for us. My little family is going to miss Aunt Lusan and Uncle Shebo.

(Avoiding sad feelings and focusing on food) The torte itself is not like a classic cheesecake, it’s less dense, more airy, and not especially sweet.  If I make it again, I’m going to come up with some flavored syrup or another topping to give it more oomph.  It’s good, but if I’m making desert, I want it to sing a little. In all fairness to the recipe, I forgot some things here, didn’t time things right, there…I was a little off my cooking game, so it could be tons better than the version I produced.

Read other people’s experiences with this recipe here.

Sus and Kevin, if you are reading this, know you will leave a void in our lives.  Stick together out there in the great unknown.  We love you both.

§ 2 Responses to French Friday: Late and on a Sunday

  • Jessica Weeks says:

    It’s been a while since I’ve been on here and you’ve been busy. Everything looks delicious (but that could be because I’m starving right now) but I especially am intrigued by all the french Friday recipes, particularly this one because I love goat cheese. Keep the good recipes coming!

  • Monica says:

    yay! it’s actually a really great recipe. I was just last minute and distracted in my prep. I think any of Dorie Greenspan’s recipes are a safe bet.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading French Friday: Late and on a Sunday at Space & Thyme.

meta

