French Friday: Salted Butter Break-ups

March 18, 2011 § 6 Comments

Fridays are a time for recipes from Around My French Table, Dorie Greenspan’s most recent book.  On the FFWD menu this week: Salted Butter Break-ups.  What you do is basically make one giant slab of a cookie, bake it, and then bring it to the table, whole, so everyone can break off a piece.

The short, extremely basic ingredient list never gives you a hint of what you’ll taste when these things hit your mouth.  Flour, sugar, salt, butter, water, and an egg yolk? They’re transformed into a complex, salty, creamy, caramel flavor that is ever so slightly (ok, highly) addictive. It’s a great, simple treat, but with a somewhat swanky flavor because of the coarse salt.

Another thing this recipe has going for it: it’s so easy. The hardest part of the process  is waiting an hour for the dough to chill before you bake it. If you have a food processor, assembling the dough takes about five minutes. If you don’t and you blend the butter and dry ingredients with your fingertips (which is what I did), it’ll take ten. You probably have the ingredients in your pantry now, so go ahead.  This is a good one.

(Head over to Serious Eats for the full recipe)


§ 6 Responses to French Friday: Salted Butter Break-ups

  • Tia says:

    nice close up shots!
    I’m still playing FFWD catchup, so I made the cheese bread this week.
    Buttercreambarbie

  • Cher says:

    Loved, loved, loved how easy this was. (and how it used simple everyday ingredients to make something special)

  • Susan says:

    Once again a recipe made without me… I’ll just be sitting over here feeling sorry for myself. :) How am I going to survive Boston? We’ll have to cook at the same time.

  • nana says:

    Looks delicious. Very easy to prepare, I didn’t even have to shop. Had everything
    in cupboard for a change. Tricia and I each had a different opinion about this cookie,
    but that is the fun of doing this cooking blog. I’m glad you enjoyed it too.

  • Allison says:

    I so love your photos. Gorgeous.

  • Adriana says:

    The cookies were incredibly addictive. I made my dough before leaving for work, so the toughest part for me was smelling the cookie while it baked… I barely waited for the cookies to cool off before I started breaking off pieces.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading French Friday: Salted Butter Break-ups at Space & Thyme.

meta

