French Fridays: savory cheese and herb bread

March 7, 2011 § 5 Comments

Yes, I know. It’s not Friday. It’s Monday.  But I’m just getting around to posting about this week’s FFWD recipe: savory cheese and herb bread.  This blogging thing takes time and I’ve been feeling pretty deficient of free time lately.  I may need to do some prioritizing. We’ll see.

So, the cheese and herb bread: The recipe from Around My French Table was savory cheese and chive bread, but since I was fresh out of chives, I decided to do rosemary.  I think next time I would try thyme as it’s not as assertive as rosemary (it can taste soapy), but I think you could pretty much do any herb you had on hand.  This principle goes for the cheese as well.  I used cheddar, but you could use any number of cheeses.  Hard cheeses would be best, I think, but there’s white cheddar, swiss, gruyere, gouda, and lots of others that I think would be interesting.  The recipe also called for walnuts.  I skipped them and was sorry I did. I definitely wanted a little crunch in the bread.

I’m sure the original recipe is exceptional because even with all my changes it turned out really well.  It’s was best warm, just out of the oven, but it’s good at room temperature, too.  When I had a few slices left over the next day, I toasted them on a baking sheet at 350 degrees and made them a little crunchy.  Spread with goat cheese, this toasted version was my favorite way to eat it!  And I think, toasted, it would be a great little bite with white wine or champagne (if you wanted to get really fancy).

Again, as with all the recipes that the FFWD group does, they ask that you don’t post the actual recipe, so if you think you want to try this, don’t hesitate to leave me a message in the comments and I’ll email you the recipe. I can highly recommend the book, but I know how it is.

§ 5 Responses to French Fridays: savory cheese and herb bread

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading French Fridays: savory cheese and herb bread at Space & Thyme.

meta

