Reads

February 16, 2011 § 1 Comment

We made a trip to the library today and requested some books I’ve been wanting to read/cook from.  I get so excited by this shopping/not really shopping experience that the library affords.  There is so much potential in a bag of books that you have yet to read.  It’s the same way I feel when I’m in the fabric store: so many things to make!  So many possibilities!  ok. I’ll calm down. But, here’s the  (exciting!!) list:

How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman.   We eat meatless three nights a week or so to help us cut our food budget.  I’m looking for more ideas.  Plus, I liked his NY Times column The Minimalist (he just quit writing it, but there are archives).

A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg.  I’ve been a fan of her blog, Orangette, for some time and never read her book.

Comfort Me with Apples by Ruth Reichl.  She’s a great writer, editor of (now defunct, sniff) Gourmet Magazine, food critic for the NY Times, etc, etc. I just really like the way she writes (what I read in Gourmet), so I’m looking forward to it. We’ll see.

The Fireside Cookbook by James Beard.  Supposed to be a classic from “the dean of American cuisine” (obviously, not my words. who talks like that?)

The James Beard Cookbook by (you guessed it) James Beard.  Another “classic” that I’ve never looked through.

I LOVE THE LIBRARY.

Tagged:

§ One Response to Reads

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reads at Space & Thyme.

meta

