Blondes

January 21, 2011 § 8 Comments

Well, I’ve realized I have no idea what I’m doing in this bloggy thingy and have found that it probably isn’t all together cool for me to post actual recipes on here without permission of the author (or publisher if it’s in a book) of the recipes.  If anyone out there (all two of you that are reading this) knows anything about the rules could you leave it in the comments?  Until I figure it out, I’m just going to post pictures, and book links and page numbers, OR recipes I just make up. I don’t want to take anyone’s “property” away.

So, this recipe (I’m not going to publish) is going back to Dorie Greenspan and her book that I mentioned a couple of days ago, Baking From My Home to Yours (page 109).  I made these little darlings for the June Bug’s 7th birthday.  I was trying to offer her well wishers something sweet to eat other than a giant coconut cake. (It’s her favorite, but not the way I made it this year. Lesson learned.) They actually have a little coconut in them too, but you wouldn’t know unless you were looking for it. It’s like a chunky, brownie texture with a chocolate chip cookie cake flavor. A little salty, a good bit sweet.

Again, can I just say how much I like they way she writes? Her descriptions are so helpful.  For example:

“The blondies (when done) should pull away from the sides of the pan a little and the top should be a nice honey brown.”

You know exactly what it should look like, now. Isn’t that so much more descriptive than “a deep, golden brown”?  Maybe it’s just me…

And why obsess over blondie descriptions when you can take the high, lofty road and spend a lot of time lusting over this ?  All you have to do, is appeal to my vanity, and I’m sold  (well, not in actuality as it’s so expensive!  but, in my heart, yes).

§ 8 Responses to Blondes

  • Susan says:

    I am perfectly happy to be totally wrong, but I think as long as you cite your sources you’re fine. It’s not stealing unless you claim it as your own. I say that only because every blog I’ve ever seen does it.

    • Monica says:

      Sus, I think you are right. I read more about it today. I think the rule is attribute sources and write instructions in your own words. I’m going with it.

  • Ellie says:

    i have the clairsonic classic plus and i LOVE it! I don’t love buying replacement heads, so i haven’t yet.. but i need to. i figured if i was going to buy quality skincare products, i’d get my money’s worth if my skin absorbed more of it, which it does with the clairsonic. but now we know what to get you for your birthday / xmas / festivus airing of the grievances..

  • kathy says:

    sus i right. as long as you site source and state that is an “adaption” from….. you are in the clear.

  • kathy says:

    that being said….please feel free to post recipe :) they look too scrumptious to not try.

  • Luchrysta says:

    Made these for community group and they were a big hit

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blondes at Space & Thyme.

meta

