Goings On

March 26, 2012 § 8 Comments

Hello reader! It’s been a while, hasn’t it. Well, it has been for me.  I dropped my computer on the floor a few weeks ago, killing it instantly, and silencing me for a while.  If you’ve been paying attention you know this is the SECOND time I’ve done this. My husband is losing his patience.   I may just need to stay away from computers altogether, but for now, here is a quick update on things around here:

:::I made my first loaf of naturally leavened bread!!  I started it from my own starter and everything! Was I this proud of myself on the days I gave birth? I’m not sure.  I used a recipe from Maggie Glezer’s Artisan Bakingbut there are lots of recipes out there.  Try here and here, for instance.

:::I took an old turtleneck from one of my kids drawers and turned it into a dress with the help of some elastic and material I had lingering in my stack.  I was really winging it here and it shows a bit, but all in all, I think it will be a great summer dress for girl number 2.  You can get the real instructions here.

:::And the chickens are back in full force for the spring! We are swimming in eggs and it’s glorious.  I thought this page was a good place to start.

:::I’ve been reading Harold McGee’s On Food and Cooking: the Science and Lore of the Kitchen, and it’s amazingly entertaining and fastidiously detailed at the same time.  I feel very studious when I read it, too.

:::I’m wanting to try something like this.  I think they are so simple and beautiful.

:::And finally, I tried to make goat milk ricotta twice to no (or very little) avail.  I used the directions found here.  It sounds so good, doesn’t it? And it would go so well with my new baby, I mean, bread! Does anyone out there know if my ultra pasteurized version of the milk is to blame?

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Goings On

  • onceuponacupcake says:

    I have never made cheese but have been looking into it lately because of teds dairy allergies. I did read last night a fresh mozzarella recipe that said “do not use ultra pasturized milk. It will not work!” so that might be your problem. Sarah Ned has connections for raw dairy and just got some goats milk so she might be able to hook you up if you decide to try again

    • Monica says:

      The milk she gets is really good. I might be converted. And yes, I think she said they had goat milk too. I’ll give it a try. And I have heard that diary allergy folk have an easièr time with goat milk.

  • Elena says:

    Oh WOW–what a beautiful, bouncing baby–I mean loaf of bread! I want to create something like that!!! What an inspiring picture and impetus to get me to put that artisan baking book on hold at the library right now. Is that book where you learned to make your own starter?

    • Monica says:

      Elena, yes, artisan baking is where I found good instructions for a starter. It’s a really interesting read as well. I think you would enjoy it.

  • goesonruns says:

    just read – extra virginity – awesome…… and was dying to talk to you about it. i might have to put it in the mail for you….. miss you.

  • ellie says:

    try champagne vinegar instead of (or in addition to) the lemon juice. i’ve made ricotta with regular grocery store milk and it turned out well- but that was cow’s milk. maybe the goat milk is different.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Goings On at Space & Thyme.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

