On Her Way

March 30, 2011 § 3 Comments

It’s one of my goals to teach any of my kids that want to learn, to sew.   I’m not an impeccable seamstress or anything, but I know enough to get someone started.  Aiden, my oldest daughter (9), has the most interest so far.  She’s got a lot of the qualities of someone who will sew: crafty, not afraid to try things if she’s never done it, etc.  She’s made her dolls makeshift clothes, uses scraps for headbands, that kind of stuff.  And she’s really independent about it, too, which makes me happy. Her independence on clean up leaves something to be desired, but I’m hoping with some practice, she’ll get better at that part of it.
This skirt is the first thing I would say she really participated heavily in making (as opposed to standing next to me while I sewed it).  She did over half of the work on it.  She sewed the layers, made the casing for the elastic waist, with some guidance, cut out some of the pieces herself, and picked out the material and trim (from my collected bits) by herself.  I think it bears a strong resemblance to a skirt that would be seen here, but still…I’m proud of her.  She’s a crazy cool kid.
§ 3 Responses to On Her Way

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On Her Way at Space & Thyme.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

