Planting for Summer

February 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

Is that not the funniest picture? I said, “Hold the seeds up so I can take a picture of what we’re planting.”  This is what she did. She’s such a unique, little person, with so much going on her head. I really have a sense of wonder at her. Who displays something by hanging it from their mouth? I love it!  She’s so funny, so different from me.  I admire her creativity (not just in showing seeds…she’s always doing things differently like this), I love that I get to know her so well.

Anyway…we had some more garden work to do this weekend.  Dad and two kids were at soccer, and we stayed home, too sick for soccer, but not too sick for planting.

We planted eggplant (hanging from June’s mouth above), baby limas, basil, parsley, oregano, sunflowers (attract bees for pollination), marigolds (supposed to help with aphids), long beans, and tomatoes.

Love the dirt on her fingers…

and the shoe-lessness…yes, it IS that warm here!

It was a good way to spend the morning.  Now we get to wait and look for the magic to happen.

Also, any Lakelanders that are into gardening: check out Peterson’s Nursery (it’s where we got the seeds this morning) on Lakeland Highlands Blvd.  The ladies in there are so helpful, they know their stuff and will tell you what you need and what you don’t.  This morning I got a lesson on what chemicals in the soil help with foliage, which help for flowering fruit, and which help plants lay down roots. It was so helpful in knowing what to add to the soil. I really like learning about the whole process, so I was appreciative. They’re a good resource.

‘Til next time…

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Planting for Summer at Space & Thyme.

meta